Mad Town or BTV

Burlington friends would find themselves right at home in Madison. The city revolves around UW and touts eat local, buy local, and definitely drink local. In Madison alone there are 11 local breweries and in Milwaukee an additional 12 breweries (in 2013 it was reported there were 75 breweries total in WI). Milwaukee is also where Miller and Pabst first started. Thank you Mr. Pabst for an affordable, not entirely disgusting beer, when we were too broke in college for micro brews. Some fast facts about the VT brew scene there are 38 breweries in the state, and because we have such a small population that makes 6.38 breweries per 100,000 people- number one per capita in the nation. As I counted those VT breweries up there were a whole lot that I had never heard of before- I’ll definitely need to seek them out next time I’m in town.

Beyond exploring the local brew scene in Mad Town, I was lucky enough to drop in on family I haven’t seen in about 7 years. It was crazy to see everyone after so long and to see how big all the cousins are and to meet the littlest ones for the first time. Silly me, I didn’t think to grab any pictures with everyone, so I’ll have to remember next time I’m up here 7 years from now. Just kidding, I sure hope it’s much sooner that I make it back to the “mid-coast”.

Walking downtown near the University made me miss Burlington quite a bit, but then overhearing ridiculous undergrad conversations reminded me why it was time to get the heck out of a college town. UW students, like UVM students, definitely run the area. I had found an ad for a downtown glass blowing class only to find out I would have found a more professional establishment had I just stumbled upon someone’s dorm room with a blow torch. I’ll save you the rant, but it was truly an embarrassing  business led by a few undergrad Greek students. However, playing with glass in fire is a lot of fun! I’ll definitely keep my eyes open for another class some time.

Thanks to the uncles, aunts, cousins, and friends who made time to see me so last minute. And huge thanks for Jerry, Robin, Piper, and Bella for having me!

Leave a Reply

