Perks of Long Distance Travel

I love hunkering down on a long bus ride or train ride. When I chat with people and mention that I’m heading off on a 12, 15, 20, 40 hour ride they think I’m INSANE to be excited about it. But you’d all be excited about these things too, right?

SAVE MONEY

When ever possible take the overnight trip. The cost for a ticket pays for both transportation and your accommodations. As a budget minded, slow traveler this is the perfect combination!

SAVE MORE MONEY

If you’re someone that finds lots of little things to spend money on throughout the day, then you’re in luck! Most of the time there isn’t a damn place to spend your money at! There may be a concession stand on your mode of transportation or an opportunity to stop at a bus stop to pick something up, but I wouldn’t count on it.

ENJOY THE WORLD AROUND YOU

It’s pretty amazing to nod off for a nap and wake to a whole new landscape flashing before your eyes. I love to geek out over this. Whenever I’m able to get a GPS signal I love to know exactly what town I’m passing through to give the landscape more context.

SUNRISES

You’ll always catch the sunrise. Not many of us willingly pull ourselves out of our beds to run out and see the sun come up, but when you have windows for walls you’ll appreciate the glimpse of early morning light. Though, the appreciation may only last a few minutes until you realize you can’t fall back asleep.

Sunrise over the mountains an hour north of San Francisco from Amtrak's Pacific Surfliner train.
Sunrise over the mountains an hour north of San Francisco from Amtrak’s Pacific Surfliner train.

SNOOGLING

I love to sit in my cozy little seat nook. As a child, did anyone else find the smallest little spot to read or play when they were younger? I just want to hole up and tear through a book, do some writing, or doodle all snuggled up in my scarf blanket and staring out the window.

COLLECT STORIES

You’ll meet the most interesting people. You’re stuck for a while so you might as well make some friends or do some eavesdropping. Anyone that willingly takes the longer (in some cases much longer) road, is someone you’re going to want to know more about. The stories alone make long distance travel worth it- trust me.

One thought on “Perks of Long Distance Travel

Leave a Reply

